clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Where we stand now in terms of next year and the 85 scholarship max

NCAA Football: CFP National Championship Game-Alabama vs Georgia Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

Kirby Smart raked in a couple more five stars, for arguably the best signing class in UGA history. He’s also rounding out his coaching staff yesterday. Suffice it to say, there’s been a lot going on so let’s break back out the calculator! (And if I make any mistakes or fail to include anyone, please let me know in the comments.)

No, really. A team is allowed 85 players on scholarship, so in case you were curious how the math works as of today, Georgia has a few players likely to not be in Athens come August. This may be because they decide to transfer to another school, take a medical hardship, have some legal issues, or perhaps fail to make their grades to enroll, among so many other possible reasons an 18-24 yr old kid has their life circumstances change over a few months.

QB (2)- Jake Fromm (So), Justin Fields (Fr)

RB (5)- Brian Herrian (Jr), Elijah Holyfield (Jr), D’Andre Swift (So), James Cook (Fr), Zamir White (Fr)

TE (5)- Jackson Harris (Sr), Isaac Nauta (Jr), Charlie Woerner (Jr), John FitzPatrick (Fr),Luke Ford (Fr)

WR (12)- Michael Chigbu (Sr), Akhil Crumpton (Sr), Terry Godwin (Sr), Jayson Stanley (Sr), Mecole Hardman (Jr), Riley Ridley (Jr), Tyler Simmons (Jr), Trey Blount (rsFr), Jeremiah Holloman (rsFr), Matt Landers (rsFr), Tommy Bush (Fr), Kearis Jackson (Fr),

OL (17)- Kendall Baker (Sr), Lamont Gaillard (Sr), D’Marcus Hayes (Sr), Pat Allen (Jr), Sam Madden (Jr), Chris Barnes (So), Ben Cleveland (So), Solomon Kindley (So), Netori Johnson (So), Justin Shaffer (So), Andrew Thomas (So), Isaiah Wilson (rsFr), Owen Condon (Fr),Warren Ericson (Fr), Trey Hill (Fr), Cade Mays (Fr), Jamaree Sayler (Fr)

DL (12)- Daquan Hawkins-Muckle (Sr), Jonathan Ledbetter (Sr), Michael Barnett (Jr), Michail Carter (Jr), Tyler Clark (Jr), David Marshall (Jr), Julian Rochester (Jr), Justin Young (Jr), Malik Herring (So), Devante Wyatt (So), Jordan Davis (Fr), Tramel Walthour (Fr)

LB (17)- Keyon Brown (Sr), Natrez Patrick (Sr), Juwan Taylor (Sr), D’Andre Walker (Sr), Tae Crowder (Jr), Jaleel Laguins (Jr), Walter Grant (So), Jaden Hunter (So), Nate McBride (So), Monty Rice (So), Robert Beal (rsFr), Adam Anderson (Fr), Brenton Cox (Fr), Azeez Ojulari (Fr), Otis Reese (Fr), Channing Tindall (Fr), Quay Walker (Fr)

DB (16)- Deandre Baker (Sr), Jarvis Wilson (Sr), Tyrique McGhee (Jr), J.R. Reed (Jr), Tray Bishop (So), DeAngelo Gibbs (So), Richard LeCounte (So), William Poole (So), Ameer Speed (So), Eric Stokes (So), Mark Webb (So), Latavious Brini (rsFr), Tyson Campbell (Fr), Nadab Joseph (Fr), Chris Smith (Fr), Divaad Wilson (Fr)

K/P (3)- Rodrigo Blankenship (Jr), Marshall Long (So), Jake Camarda (Fr)

That leaves us at 89 as of today. So at least four of those listed above aren’t likely to have lockers in Butts-Mehre come August, and as always there could be a few more decide to depart for [reasons] leaving room for perhaps a grad transfer addition (like at say, QB) or to reward hard working walk-ons at snapper and elsewhere on the field.

And with that, we’ll end our math homework for today and give a loud GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO DAWGS!