clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Is Mark Richt About to Become the Dean of S.E.C. Coaches?

Reportedly, the Phillip Fulmer era at Tennessee is coming to an end.

This is a topic of interest to Bulldog Nation for obvious reasons, as outlined at the Georgia Sports Blog. Here is another interesting angle on this subject:

Coach Fulmer is the dean of S.E.C. coaches, having served at his present institution since 1992. Once he steps down, here is how the other eleven league head honchos stack up in terms of longevity at their current schools:

1. Tommy Tuberville (1999)
2. Mark Richt (2001)
3. Bobby Johnson (2002)
4. Rich Brooks (2003)
5. Sylvester Croom (2004)
T-6. Les Miles, Urban Meyer, and Steve Spurrier (2005)
9. Nick Saban (2007)
T-10. Houston Nutt and Bobby Petrino (2008)

I suppose there is an argument to be made for Coaches Nutt, Saban, Spurrier, and Tuberville, all of whom have longer S.E.C. pedigrees than indicated above by virtue of their having coached at other conference institutions prior to their present billets.

However, if Coach Tuberville’s days are numbered, as well, Coach Richt could head into the 2009 season as the longest-serving Southeastern Conference coach at his current institution.

Go ‘Dawgs!