Tag: college football hall of fame

Change Scope

Filter By

Matt Stinchcomb, Scott Woerner Among 76 Players Nominated for College Football Hall of Fame


The National Football Foundation today revealed the ballot for the 2012 College Football Hall of Fame induction class. Among the 76 Division I-A players nominated are former Bulldogs Matt Stinchcomb and Scott Woerner. The travesty that is Erk Russell's exclusion continues. Go 'Dawgs!

Jake Scott Headed for College Football Hall of Fame


I'm ashamed to say I forgot to renew my membership in the National Football Foundation after the initial (though not final) effort to get Erk Russell enshrined failed, so I wasn't able to vote for him, but former Georgia defensive back Jake Scott will be going into the College Football Hall of Fame in the 2011 induction class. Scott was the first of three former Bulldogs to enjoy a pro career in which he was named a Super Bowl MVP. Go 'Dawgs!

College Football Hall of Fame to Open in Atlanta in 2013


It may take us that long to get Erk Russell into the Hall, but it would be nice to do the induction ceremony here instead of making everyone drive from Statesboro to South Bend. Go 'Dawgs!

College Football Hall of Fame Divisional Class Announced, Erk Russell Not Included


This morning, the 2010 divisional class of inductees into the College Football Hall of Fame was announced. Four players and two coaches made the cut, including one coach chosen by the Veterans Committee, but Erskine Russell was not among the honorees. The two coaches selected were Willie Jeffries, who compiled a 179-132-6 record as the head coach at Howard (1984-88), Wichita State (1979-83), and South Carolina State (1973-78, 1989-2001), and Ted Kessinger, who went 219-57-1 at Bethany (Kan.) between 1976 and 2003. Coach Jeffries was chosen by the Veterans Committee. This year's class brings to 124 the total number of players and coaches from outside the Division I-A ranks to be enshrined in the Hall. That number should be 125. While I do not question the qualifications of Coaches Jeffries and Kessinger, the omission of Coach Russell was a travesty. The Veterans Committee, the composition of which is kept secret to prevent its members from being bombarded with letter-writing campaigns by boosters of would-be inductees into the Hall, played an active role in choosing this year's class, as one of the two coaches being enshrined was a Veterans Committee selection. Why, then, was Erk's candidacy found wanting? I do not believe a sufficient justification for his omission may be offered; the only explanation (and the reason he had to go before the Veterans Committee rather than appear on the ballot) is that the well-intended but ill-considered ten-year minimum for head coaches barred Coach Russell's entry. This is a setback, but it is only a setback. If the rule keeps the deserving out, the rule needs to be changed, if only to create an exception for special cases such as this. I would have preferred to have gone about this the easy way, but, as Coach Russell spent his life and career teaching, few things that are worthwhile ever came easy. It is time to regroup and evaluate how best to go about changing the rule from within the system, so that Coach Russell may be considered on his merits rather than excluded on a technicality. Stay tuned. . . . GATA!

2010 College Football Hall of Fame Class to be Announced May 27


I'm not particularly interested in the corporate sponsors of the event, but the salient datum announced by the National Football Foundation today was that this year's College Football Hall of Fame Division I-A induction class will be announced at noon on Thursday, May 27. If Erk Russell is selected by the Veterans Committee, it will be for the divisional class, so it does not appear that we will know for sure whether Coach Russell has been inducted on May 27. However, we will learn the fate of three damn good 'Dawgs (all of whom appeared on my ballot), with the word on Coach Russell's candidacy hopefully to follow. Stay tuned. . . . GATA!

College Football Hall of Fame headed to Atlanta


Welcome South, brothers! Now it won't be such a long drive from Statesboro for Erk Russell's induction ceremony. . . . Go 'Dawgs!

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Dawg Sports

You must be a member of Dawg Sports to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Dawg Sports. You should read them.

Join Dawg Sports

You must be a member of Dawg Sports to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Dawg Sports. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.